35 years ago today - Nov 10, 1985

The Quorum of the Twelve sustains Ezra Taft Benson as the church president with Gordon B. Hinckley and Thomas S. Monson as counselors, and ordains President Benson. Benson is the first LDS church president with a graduate degree (M.S. from Iowa State University). Also, the First Presidency and apostles vote for Howard W. Hunter as Acting President of the Quorum of the Twelve due to the incapacity of Marion G. Romney. Although 'non compos mentis,' Romney is now next in apostolic seniority to the church president and eligible for automatic succession in the event of Benson's death. This situation continues until Romney's death in 1988, during which time the church president has a heart attack.

[The Mormon Hierarchy - Extensions of Power by D. Michael Quinn, [New Mormon History database (http://bit.ly/NMHdatabase)]]

No comments:

Post a Comment