55 years ago today - Feb 6, 1967

U.S. president Lyndon B. Johnson confers the National Medal of Science on LDS Henry Eyring. A prize-winning chemist since 1932, Eyring authoried the Absolute Rate Theory and has been among finalists for the Swedish Academy's Nobel Prize in chemistry since 1949. He receives the Elliot Cresson Medal from the Franklin Institute in 1969. Since 1875 the Franklin Institute has awarded this prize for inventions and theoretical break-throughs by such notables as Nikola Tesla, Wilhelm C. Roentgen, Madame Curie, Ernest Rutherford, Alexander Graham Bell, Charles P. Steinmetz, Orville Wright, and Henry Ford.

[The Mormon Hierarchy - Extensions of Power by D. Michael Quinn, [New Mormon History database (http://bit.ly/NMHdatabase)]]

No comments:

Post a Comment