40 years ago today - Mar 4, 1980

Phil Tuckett is the first Mormon to receive a national "Emmy" from the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (sports cinematography, 1978-79 season). Lynda Day George is the first nominee for an Emmy (1973), followed by nominees Robert Brunner (1978) and Merlin Olsen (1979,1981,1983). Other LDS Emmy winners include: Phil Tuckett again (1979-80, 1981-82, 1982-83 seasons), Tony Geary (lead actor, daytime drama, 1981-82). The LDS church receives an Emmy (public service spot, 1987,1988,1993), M. Curtis Price for sound mixing (1988), Kurt Bestor and Sam Cardon for their music scoring of the 1988 Winter Olympics telecast. Raised as both a Jew and a Mormon in Salt Lake City, Roseanne Barr Arnold ("We were Mormons... ten years") receives an Emmy (best actress in a comedy series, 1993). A favorite with Salt Lake City's younger audiences during her early days of stand-up, Roseanne Barr receives American Comedy Awards (Funniest Female Performer, 1988,1989), People's Choice Awards (Favorite Actress in a New Program, 1989; Favorite Female Entertainer, 1990). The above list excludes regional Emmys and similar awards of local, state, or regional status, and also excludes awards since 1996.

[The Mormon Hierarchy - Extensions of Power by D. Michael Quinn, [New Mormon History database ( http://bit.ly/NMHdatabase )]]

No comments:

Post a Comment