50 years ago today - Apr 2, 1974

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences gives an "Oscar" to two Mormons: Kieth Merrill (director, documentary 'The Great American Cowboy') and James Payne (set design, 'The Sting'). They are the first Mormon winners in 33 years, but LDS nominees are Leigh Harline (music scores, 1943, 1944, 1963), Arnold Friberg (art work, 'The Ten Commandments,' 1956), Russ Tamblyn (supporting actor, 'Peyton Place,' 1957). Tamblyn also receives a Golden Globe award in 1956 as the "most promising newcomer," as does LDS Ruth Buzzi in 1973 for her supporting role in television's 'Laugh-In.' Within days, the Council on International Non-theatrical Events (CINE) gives its "Golden Eagle" award to Brigham Young University for "Cipher in the Snow," which receives international distribution among schools and various religious denominations. In 1989 the LDS church and Bonneville International also receive two Golden Eagle awards for their "Homefront" public-service advertisements. Individual Mormons
who win a Golden Eagle include Curt Bestor (1988) and Martin L. Andersen (1994).

[The Mormon Hierarchy - Extensions of Power by D. Michael Quinn, [New Mormon History database ( http://bit.ly/NMHdatabase )]]

No comments:

Post a Comment