180 years ago today - Oct 1, 1842

We the undersigned members of the ladies' relief society, and married females do certify and declare that we know of no system of marriage being practised in the church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints save the one contained in the Book of Doctrine and Covenants [the "Article on Marriage from the 1835 D&C denying polygamy and stating 'that one man should have one wife; and one woman, but one husband'], and we give this certificate to the public to show that J. C. Bennett's "secret wife system" is a disclosure of his own make.

Emma Smith, President,

Elizabeth Ann Whitney [who was aware of Joseph Smith's marriage to her daughter], Counsellor,

Sarah M. Cleveland [a plural wife of Joseph Smith's], Counsellor,

Eliza R. Snow [a plural wife of Joseph Smith's], Secretary,

Mary C. Miller, Catharine Pettey [Petty], Lois Cutler, Sarah Higbee, Thirza Cahoon, Phebe Woodruff, Ann Hunter, Leonora Taylor, Jane Law, Sarah Hillman, Sophia R. Marks, Rosannah Marks, Polly Z. Johnson, Angeline Robinson, Abigail Works.

[1.6 Emma Smith and Others, Statement, October 1, 1842, as quoted in Matthew J. Grow, Jill Derr, Carol Madsen, and Kate Holbrook, editors, The First Fifty Years of Relief Society: Key Documents in Latter-day Saint Women's History, The Church Historian's Press, 2016, https://churchhistorianspress.org/the-first-fifty-years-of-relief-society/]

No comments:

Post a Comment