170 years ago today - Jan 15, 1851

First of Brigham Young's formal divorces from plural wives. He is only one formally dívorced while serving as church presídent. Joseph Smith informally ended several plural mariages, and four LDS presidents are formally divorced as apostles (John Taylor, Wilford Woodruff, Lorenzo Snow, and Joseph F. Smith).

[The Mormon Hierarchy - Extensions of Power by D. Michael Quinn, [New Mormon History database (http://bit.ly/NMHdatabase)]]

No comments:

Post a Comment