50 years ago today - Jul 7, 1972

The Quorum of the Twelve sustains Harold B. Lee as church president with N. Eldon Tanner and Marion G. Romney as counselors and ordains Lee. From 1918 until this day, all LDS church presidents are born in Utah. Lee is the first LDS president born in Idaho and the first to reach adulthood in the twentieth century. Romney is the first member of the First Presidency born outside of the U.S. since Charles W. Nibley's death in 1931.

[The Mormon Hierarchy - Extensions of Power by D. Michael Quinn, [New Mormon History database ( http://bit.ly/NMHdatabase )]]

No comments:

Post a Comment